Home > Uncategorized > Responsibility To Those We Have

Responsibility To Those We Have

Just a thought for the day, but one I think of almost on a daily basis. I am currently caring for six different birds. Two are here for training and the other four are here based on my choice in bringing them under my roof as companions. With each decision I made in bringing each bird under my care, there is a strong responsibility I took on in taking each bird in.

Bringing a life into this household is not one I took lightly. Yes, birds are pretty, comical, interesting, unique, and intriguing. They are so much more than that also. They are intelligent, active, always learning, and dependent on us for care. If I take in one bird, it will take a bit of my time away from that one there, and this one over here. Filling one more foraging toy takes time away from making other toys for the bird over there. Cleaning one more cage takes time away from participating in the thrill of flight in the aviary of the bird over there.

I do love the interaction I see of having more than one bird in this household. There is a delicate balance of making sure I have the time for each bird I have agreed to give care. That care isn’t just food and water and changing papers. That care is making sure they are learning from their environment and making sure that environment is as stress free as I can make it. That care is making sure each bird is mentally stimulated through training, enrichment, and exercise. That care is doing what I can to make sure each bird is getting good health care and nutritional care. That care is making sure each bird has a healthy relationship in the household in which it lives. Taking on one more bird takes a bit of time and attention away from each bird, from my spouse, from daily details, and from time I need to be happy and healthy.

I try to help others by sharing what I have done and am continuing to do with the ones I have here under my care. I made a commitment to them when I agreed to bring them here. On the other hand, I also love each bird enough to know if someplace else can provide better care and a better learning environment for the bird, I will take serious consideration in letting that bird go and be happier and healthier in another environment. How could I not allow that?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Mary Hitchcock
    February 20, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    So true!!!! And that goes for birds, kids, other pets. If you spread yourself too thin you’re not there for anybody! I think some people keep adding pets looking for that “perfect” one that’s going to fill their every need. Wrong. Fulfilling the need comes from within, not from another bird, cat, dog, child.

  2. February 20, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    Lara-so well said and so VERY true! This message needs to be blasted loud and clear to all in Rescue, Breeding and Pet-owners. We love and want to help them all but too many birds are getting an injustice by over-stretching ourselves. Thank you for all you do!

  3. February 21, 2012 at 10:24 am

    Yes, a critically important message that we should always remember. Though our hearts are capable of creating an infinite amount of love for each new soul who enters into our lives, the hours in our days are painfully finite. This is often a very difficult task for those of us involved in rescue work, as there’s always one more heart breaking tail of a bird (or MANY birds) in dire and urgent need. Tragic results can occur when well intentioned people take on more than they are truly capable of handling.

  4. Jennifer
    February 21, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Nice post. It sure rings true.

  5. Cathy R
    February 24, 2012 at 10:40 am

    I couldn’t agree more with your thoughts & the others’ comments. We have to maintain a balance. Especially with a cockatoo/s in the mix! With 4 cockatoos (& a grey)….I know that is my limit. It sometimes even seems like too much. Cockatoos are very needy of individual attention. It’s so EASY to spread ourselves too thin. How can our birds benefit from that? OR US….feeling stressed by such a situation.

    And I also agree with what you stated about letting a bird go if it’s in the best interest of the bird. No need for people to be judgemental about that. My grey ADORES my mother more than anyone one the planet. It makes me feel bad for her (the bird) because as much as my mom loves her back…..my mom won’t consider taking on a bird. So my grey sits around here constantly asking “where’s grandma?”. lol. So when my mom comes over….she is forced to pay special attn to her favorite “grandchild”….the bird. 😉
    *Again….another GREAT article Lara!!*

  6. February 27, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    Wonderful post. The birds are lucky to have someone as thoughtful as you looking after them.

  7. May 3, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    I could not agree more i so wish more people would consider the responsibility involved.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

